It is the county seat of Miami-Dade County, and therefore the main, most central and most populous city in the Miami Metropolitan Area. It was founded on July 28, 1896 and according to the 2014 census it has a population of 417,650; Its metropolitan area encompasses more than 5.4 million inhabitants, which makes it the seventh largest in the United States.4 The United Nations has calculated that Miami became the ninth largest metropolitan area in the country, behind from New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Washington DC, Philadelphia, Boston and San Francisco